Leader's Jerseys

The North Star Grand Prix has winners at every race, but it also has competitions that last for the entire five days. Here’s how to spot the leaders:

Yellow Jersey: Overall Leader
Hours. Minutes. Seconds. It’s all about time. We add up each rider’s time for each day and throw in a few time bonuses. The rider with the lowest total time is the North Star Grand Prix leader.
Black Jersey: K'ul Chocolate Sprint Competition
The sprint competition creates several mini-races inside the race. We place sprint lines throughout the stages and give points to the first riders across those lines. The rider with the most points receives the K'ul Chocolate Sprinter’s jersey.


Polka Dot Jersey: Sports Beans King/Queen of the Hills
The brutal climbs in some stages of the North Star Grand Prix will separate the contenders from the pretenders. Riders earn points by being the first across the line on designated hills. The top hill climbers will be recognized with polka dot jersey.


Red Jersey: Surly Most Aggressive Rider
This is the rider who has done the most to animate the race each day. Attacking, bridging, chasing, sprinting, this rider always seems to stirring things up at the center of the action.


White Jersey:  Greg LeMond Best Young Rider
Young riders are the future of the sport. The best placed man under age 23 and the best placed woman under age 26 will receive a white jersey.

Green Jersey: Penn Cycle Top Amateurs
Professionals and elite amateurs participate in the North Star Grand Prix. The top amateur man and woman will be recognized with a green jersey.

Carla Swart Sportsmanship Award - Women's Race Only
Bicycle racing is a team sport.  The unsung heroes are the riders who sacrifice their own chances to support a teammate.  They may chase down a breakaway that's a danger to their team leader or exhaust themselves leading the team's designated sprinter to the line.  Named in honor of an alumna of our Collegiate All-Star team who made it big before being killed in a tragic training accident, the Carla Swart Sportsmanship Award recognizes the rider who has sacrificed the most.  It is determined by vote of the riders after the North Mankato Road Race and then presented before the start of the Stillwater Criterium.
USA Cycling Pro Road Tour - The Pro Road Tour is a year-long series organized by USA Cycling. Riders and teams try to accumulate points at every PRT race. The final tally determines the best professional bicycle racing riders and teams in the country.